Skip to main content


At Vermont Commons School, the administration supports and empowers teachers to fully engage students in their learning using 21st Century-teaching methodologies. Innovation is encouraged and educational philosophies that work are shared in regular meetings and online forums. Best practices for enhanced collaboration and professionalism are continually sought out in order to sustain a culture of community and excellence for students, teachers, parents, and alumni. Learn more about our administration below. You can also view our faculty and administration listed by department here.

Dexter Mahaffey

Head of School - Appointed 2014

Ph.D. English, University of Louisville Learn more...

Jasmine Easter

Assistant Head of School, Math Chair - Appointed 2017

B.A. Mathematics, Ithaca College Learn more...

Linda Bursell

Business Manager - Appointed 2011

Certified Public Accountant (C.P.A.), B.S. Business, UVM, concentration in Accounting Learn more...

Jill Strawbridge

Director of Admissions - Appointed 2013

B.A. English, University of South Alabama Learn more...

Marta Beede

College Counselor - Appointed 2017

Ed.D. Educational Leadership, University of Vermont Learn more...

Susan Wertheimer

College Counselor - Appointed 2017

M.Ed., University of Vermont Learn more...

Katherine Bailey

Administrative Assistant - Appointed 2015

B.A. Liberal Arts, Concentrations in Visual Arts and Music, Bennington College Learn more...

Steve Lausier

Registrar, Communications & Technical Director, Spring Play Director - Appointed 2013

M.A. English Literature, University of Vermont Learn more...

Scholarship. Community. Global Responsibility.

At Vermont Commons School, our goal is to engage students with their world. We achieve this through programs and a curriculum grounded in local and global involvement.